Bananas On A Budget

Healthy food can be expensive, but there are clever ways to stretch your dollars. One of my favorite strategies is to buy food that is on sale & freeze it for later! Some of my favorites are Chicken, Ground Turkey, Avocado, Eggs, & Bananas.

Today I am going to show you how to freeze cheap, perfectly ripe bananas. 

First, find a grocery store in your area that reduces the price of their bananas when they get really ripe. In my area, Ingles or Food City are two stores I can usually count on.
This trip I even managed to find some organic bananas that had had been put on sale!

Once you get them home, peel the bananas and break them into pieces. I usually break them in half because that’s how I use them in my smoothie recipes. Trust me, it is easier to break them up now than when they are frozen.

Then, place the banana pieces into a quart size freezer bag. I usually only fill the bags about half way up because I don’t use them all at once. This limits freezer burn from opening & closing the bag repeatedly over time.

Last, I would advise putting the date you stored your bananas on the bags so you can keep track of how long they have been in the freezer. If untouched, I’m sure the bananas would stay good for 6 months or more, but they honestly never last that long in my house.  Just remember, If you aren’t using the whole bag at once, try to get as much air as possible out and reseal it well after each use.

Not sure how to use your newly frozen bananas? Check out my Strawberry Banana Protein Smoothie Recipe for some inspiration!

Leave a Reply

